Part 46/48 Training

Whether preparing the new miner/contractor or refreshing the experienced employee, our courses will equip industry professionals for safety and health hazards involved in surface mining operations. Topics include Miners Rights and Responsibilities, Industrial Hygiene, Water Hazards, Explosives, Fall Prevention, First Aid, Respiratory Protection, Powered Haulage Accident Prevention, Sliding Material Hazards and much more. All classes meet the U.S. Department of Labor Mine Safety & Health Administration (MSHA) Part 46/48(b) requirements for New Miner and Annual Refresher Training.

Course Overview

MSHA Part 46 or Part 48(b) Annual Refresher Training is a renewal training required each year (after taking New Miner Training) to maintain compliance with MSHA. Each miner will receive no less than eight hours of Annual Refresher Training no less frequently than once each 12 months as prescribed in Section 46.8. The one-day class will refresh experienced miners and contractors in safety and health hazards involved in surface mining. You are required to show your current or most recent 5000-23 Certificate of Training prior to the class (per MSHA requirements).

Course Outline

15-Minute Rule, Accident Prevention, Electrical Hazards, Escape and Emergency Evacuation Procedures, Explosives, Fire Warning and Firefighting, First Aid, Ground Control and Highwall Safety, Hazard Communication, Health (Dust and Noise), Mandatory Safety and Health Standards, Miners’ Rights and Responsibilities, MSHA Rules to Live By, Self-Rescue and Respiratory Devices, Surface Powered Haulage, Welding Safety and Changes in the Workplace – Part 46.

Outcomes
Completion of the 8-hour course, MSHA Part 46/48 Annual Refresher Training Certificate of Completion, MSHA 5000-23 Form
Prerequisites

This course is intended for individuals who have successfully completed and have received MSHA Part 46 or 48(b) New Miner Training certification and/or have received MSHA Part 46 or 48(b) Annual Refresher Training and are in need of renewing their certification.

Dates and Location

8:00 A.M. – 4:30 P.M.

6825 Fox Chase Dr. Lakeland, FL 33810

or

Northeast Florida Safety Council, 1725 Art Museum Drive, Jacksonville, FL 32207

Monday, January 4, 2021 (Lakeland)

Monday, January 25, 2021 (Lakeland)

Monday, February 1, 2021 (Lakeland)

Tuesday, February 9, 2021 (Jacksonville)

Monday, February 15, 2021 (Lakeland)

Monday, March 8, 2021 (Lakeland)

Monday, April 5, 2021 (Lakeland)

Tuesday, April 13, 2021 (Jacksonville)

Monday, May 3, 2021 (Lakeland)

Tuesday, May 11, 2021 (Jacksonville)

Monday, June 7, 2021 (Lakeland)

Tuesday, June 15, 2021 (Jacksonville)

Tuesday, July 6, 2021 (Lakeland)

Tuesday, July 13, 2021 (Jacksonville)

Monday, August 9, 2021 (Lakeland)

Tuesday, August 17, 2021 (Jacksonville)

Tuesday, August 31, 2021 (Lakeland)

Tuesday, September 14, 2021 (Jacksonville)

Monday, October 4, 2021 (Lakeland)

Tuesday, October 12, 2021 (Jacksonville)

Monday, November 1, 2021 (Lakeland)

Tuesday, November 9, 2021 (Jacksonville)

Tuesday, November 30, 2021 (Lakeland)

Tuesday, December 7, 2021 (Jacksonville)

Course Registration

If you have any questions, please contact Mining Program Manager Karen Miller at 850-201-7689 (Office) or 850-544-3114 (Cell) or via email at millerka@tcc.fl.edu.

  • Personal Information

  • MIIN number can be obtained from www.msha.gov.
  • Company Information

  • Select a Course