The U.S. Department of Labor’s Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) recently awarded Tallahassee Community College (TCC) with a $160,297 grant, as part of a federal effort to reduce mining accidents, injuries and illnesses by supporting mining safety and health courses. Congratulations, TCC! For more information, read the full article below.

MSHA Awards $10.5 Million in Safety Grants

The U.S. Department of Labor’s Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) has awarded $10,537,000 in grant funding to reduce mining accidents, injuries, and illnesses by supporting safety and health courses, and other programs. The awards were made to 47 states, the Navajo Nation, Guam, and Native Village of Barrow.

Grantees will use the funds to provide miners with federally mandated training. The grants cover training and retraining of miners working at surface and underground coal and metal and nonmetal mines, including miners engaged in shell dredging or employed at surface stone, sand, and gravel mining operations.

Grants were awarded based on applications from states, and they are administered by state mine inspectors’ offices, state departments of labor, and state-supported colleges and universities. Each recipient tailors the program to the needs of its mines and miners — including mining conditions and hazards miners may encounter — and provides technical assistance.

Bevill State Community College, Jasper, Alabama: $249,700

University of Alaska-Fairbanks, Fairbanks, Alaska: $125,630

Arizona State Mine Inspector, Phoenix, Arizona: $374,930

Arkansas Department of Labor, Little Rock, Arkansas: $126,932

California Department of Industrial Relations, Sacramento, California: $368,995

Colorado Department of Natural Resources, Denver, Colorado: $262,379

Central Connecticut State University, New Britain, Connecticut: $67,349

Tallahassee Community College, Tallahassee, Florida: $160,297

Oconee Fall Line Technical College, Atlanta, Georgia: $195,862

Guam Department of Labor, Tamuning, Guam: $10,000

North Idaho College, Post Falls, Idaho: $128,935

Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Springfield, Illinois: $270,403

Vincennes University, Vincennes, Indiana: $257,137

Eastern Iowa Community College District, Davenport, Iowa: $187,226

Hutchinson Community College, Hutchinson, Kansas: $117,995

Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet, Frankfort, Kentucky: $594,488

Northshore Technical Community College, Greensburg, Louisiana: $107,120

Maine Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Standards, Augusta, Maine: $84,546

Maryland Department of the Environment, La Plata, Maryland: $69,346

Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards, Boston, Massachusetts: $88,884

Michigan Technological University, Houghton, Michigan: $249,257

Minnesota State Colleges and University, St. Paul, Minnesota: $375,153

Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality, Jackson, Mississippi: $46,118

Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, Jefferson City, Missouri: $261,597

Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Helena, Montana: $218,822

Ukpeagvik Inupiat Corporation, Barrow, Native Village: $10,000

Minerals Department, Window Rock, Navajo Nation: $31,947

Board of Regents, University of Nebraska, Kearney, Nebraska: $86,168

Nevada Department of Business and Industry, Carson City, Nevada: $368,071

New Hampshire Department of Resources and Economic Development, Concord, New Hampshire: $51,250

New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Trenton, New Jersey: $54,699

New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, Socorro, New Mexico: $195,768

New York State Department of Labor, Albany, New York: $320,598

North Carolina Department of Labor, Raleigh, North Carolina: $177,500

North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education, Bismarck, North Dakota: $130,423

Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Columbus, Ohio: $288,584

Oklahoma Department of Mines, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma: $159,310

Eastern Oregon University, La Grande, Oregon: $140,810

Pennsylvania Bureau of Mine Safety, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania: $664,626

York Technical College, Rock Hill, South Carolina: $73,279

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, Rapid City, South Dakota: $88,955

Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Nashville, Tennessee: $188,739

University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas: $611,129

Utah State University Eastern, Price, Utah: $228,939

Vermont Department of Labor, Montpelier, Vermont: $99,225

Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Big Stone Gap, Virginia: $284,272

Eastern Washington University, Cheney, Washington: $168,254

West Virginia Office of Miners’ Health, Safety and Training, Charleston, West Virginia: $642,035

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services, Madison, Wisconsin: $169,704

Northern Wyoming Community College District, Gillette, Wyoming: $303,614

About MSHA
The U.S. Department of Labor’s Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) works to prevent death, illness, and injury from mining and promote safe and healthful workplaces for U.S. miners. MSHA carries out the provisions of the Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977 (Mine Act) as amended by the Mine Improvement and New Emergency Response (MINER) Act of 2006. The agency develops and enforces safety and health rules for all U.S. mines regardless of size, number of employees, commodity mined, or method of extraction. MSHA also provides technical, educational and other types of assistance to mine operators. They work cooperatively with industry, labor, and other Federal and state agencies to improve safety and health conditions for all miners in the United States.

To stop by MSHA’s website, CLICK HERE

Article by Mining