The U.S. Department of Labor’s Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) recently awarded Tallahassee Community College (TCC) with a $166,734 grant, as part of a federal effort to reduce mining accidents, injuries and illnesses by supporting mining safety and health courses. Congratulations, TCC! For more information, read the full press release below.

U.S. Department of Labor’s Mine Safety and Health Administration Announces
$10.5 Million in State Grant Funding

October 2, 2018

ARLINGTON, VA – The U.S. Department of Labor’s Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) has awarded $10,537,000 in grant funding to support safety and health courses, and other programs. MSHA awarded grants to 46 states, the Navajo Nation, Guam, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

Grantees will use the funds to provide miners with federally mandated training. The grants cover training and retraining of miners working at surface and underground coal and metal and nonmetal mines, including miners engaged in shell dredging or employed at surface stone, sand, and gravel mining operations.

MSHA awarded grants based on applications from states, and they are administered by state mine inspectors’ offices, state departments of labor, and state-supported colleges and universities. Each recipient tailors the program to the needs of its mines and miners – including mining conditions and hazards miners may encounter – and provides technical assistance.

Under Section 503 of the Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977, any state in which mining takes place may apply for the grant. MSHA may fund 80 percent of the activities under a state grant program, and the state must provide matching funds of no less than 20 percent of the total program costs.

Grant Recipient City State Amount
Bevill State Community College Sumiton Alabama $242,189
University of Alaska – Fairbanks Fairbanks Alaska $133,462
Arizona State Mine Inspector Phoenix Arizona $373,847
Arkansas Department of Labor Little Rock Arkansas $126,932
California Department of Industrial Relations Sacramento California $374,240
Colorado Department of Natural Resources Denver Colorado $263,566
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands Saipan CNMI $13,000
Central Connecticut State University New Britain Connecticut $78,041
Tallahassee Community College Tallahassee Florida $166,734
Oconee Fall Line Technical College Atlanta Georgia $201,683
Guam Department of Labor Tamuning Guam $13,000
North Idaho College Post Falls Idaho $140,935
Illinois Department of Natural Resources Springfield Illinois $271,987
Vincennes University Vincennes Indiana $260,397
Eastern Iowa Community College District Davenport Iowa $184,836
Hutchinson Community College Hutchinson Kansas $122,352
Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet Frankfort Kentucky $529,102
Northshore Technical Community College Greensburg Louisiana $111,268
Maine Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Standards Augusta Maine $117,104
Maryland Department of the Environment La Plata Maryland $73,813
Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards Boston Massachusetts $94,331
Michigan Technological University Houghton Michigan $252,812
Minnesota State Colleges and University St. Paul Minnesota $381,063
Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality Jackson Mississippi $46,118
Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations Jefferson City Missouri $267,461
Montana Department of Labor and Industry Helena Montana $218,737
Minerals Department Window Rock Navajo Nation $29,000
Board of Regents, University of Nebraska Kearney Nebraska $90,278
Nevada Department of Business and Industry Carson City Nevada $381,009
New Hampshire Dept. of Resources & Economic Development Concord New Hampshire $71,254
New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development Trenton New Jersey $59,167
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology Socorro New Mexico $197,856
New York State Department of Labor Albany New York $325,239
North Carolina Department of Labor Raleigh North Carolina $180,161
North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education Bismarck North Dakota $133,160
Ohio Department of Natural Resources Columbus Ohio $284,268
Oklahoma Department of Mines Oklahoma City Oklahoma $165,332
Eastern Oregon University La Grande Oregon $148,094
Pennsylvania Bureau of Mine Safety Harrisburg Pennsylvania $647,460
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology Rapid City South Dakota $93,656
Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development Nashville Tennessee $190,049
University of Texas at Austin Austin Texas $631,175
Utah State University Eastern Price Utah $227,914
Vermont Department of Labor Montpelier Vermont $106,355
Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy Big Stone Gap Virginia $278,029
Eastern Washington University Cheney Washington $171,679
West Virginia Office of Miners’ Health, Safety and Training Charleston West Virginia $591,955
Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services Madison Wisconsin $170,000
Northern Wyoming Community College District Gillette Wyoming $304,900
Total $10,537,000



Media Contact: Amy Louviere, 202-693-9423,

Release Number: 18-1446-NAT

Click here to view the press release on MSHA’s website.